The China Domain Name Scam

Good Afternoon Tahoe Web Service Clients;

 

Today we are going to speak about a scam. For starters this scam has been running for many years. However of course since the Olympics are in China this time around, The CHINA DOMAIN name scam as been showing itself in force.

Trust me when I say we have received many calls from our clients (that is a good thing) about these folks making contact with you via email (s). I can also tell you that we have also picked up a few of these emails over the past few days. Below we will copy and paste an email that we picked up yesterday. We are going to leave all misspellings so you can get some true detail. Also note these folks will use many different names, different companies that they are affiliated with (trust me they are not).

Date:

Tuesday, August 21, 2008 2:33 AM

From:

Leander <leander@chinesedomainname.asia>

To:

sales <sales@tahoewebservice.com>

Subject:

Urgent-dispute of Asia/China Domains with you entity

Size:

22 KB

(If you are NOT CEO, please forward this to your CEO, because this is urgent.)

Dear CEO,

  We are the department of registration service in China. we have something need to confirm with you. We formally received an application on August 18, 2008, One  company which self-styled “EVI Investment Service Co.,Ltd” are applying to register “tahoewebservice” as internet brand and CN domain names

tahoewebservice.asia            tahoewebservice.cn            tahoewebservice.com.cn            tahoewebservice.com.tw            tahoewebservice.hk            tahoewebservice.name            tahoewebservice.net.cn            tahoewebservice.org.cn            tahoewebservice.tw          

After our initial examination, we found that the internet brand applied for registration are as same as your company’s name and trademark. These days we are dealing with it, hope to get the affirmation from your company. If your company has no relationships with that company nor do not authorized, Please contact us as soon as possible.
  In addition, we hereby affirm that our time limit for dissent application is  ten days.  If your company files no dissent within the time limit, we will unconditionally approve the application submitted by “EVI Investment Co.,Ltd”.

 

Best Regards,

——————————————————————————

Leander Yang

Registration Dept

Tel: 0086 21 5271 5980  

Fax: 0086 21 5271 5978

Website: www.chinesedomainname.asia

 

You can do a simple “google.com” search using words like CN DOMAIN NAME SCAM, CHINA DOMAIN NAME SCAM, etc.

The best thing to do is treat the email as “spam” and delete it. Do not respond to them. We have responded to them at times (when we are just sitting around the office and would like to have some fun) they will get very pushy and become very rude (a true sign of false people).

If you want these China domain names for your company you can do a search or contact us as you can get these domain names for much cheaper than what these scam artists want for the names. Do not forget that the internet is a major battle field for these types of predators. Do not fall victim to any of these scams. If you have, please feel free to contact us and we will help you out the best that we can.

Tahoe Web Service

Staff

Leave a Reply